Solitude Part Three

So our temporary distance, while it pained me to be so far from him, I knew we could do it. He even encouraged me to take the job in DC. He wouldn’t be at his job long since he wanted to get into financial planning, which meant he’d probably return out East. Where he went next, I’d follow because I hated the distance. It was probably that distance that kept me from seeing the writing on the wall.
At first, we spoke a few times a week. With his acclamation to his new job and my spending habits catching up with me, we didn’t get to see each other the first few months. We attended our first homecoming as alumni and loved each other all weekend long. I went home for Thanksgiving. He didn’t come down for my birthday in December, just as I had decided to stop living the lye after twelve years and bring in my 22nd year of life perm-free. I was upset that he missed my birthday because hell, it was my birthday. I was a little relieved that he wouldn’t see my new natural, though; it was mad short. He said that it was kind of crazy to go down for a few days when the next week or so I’d be there for the holidays. I bought it…bullshit excuses from Fool-Mart. However, I got home for Christmas and he shows up to my annual family Christmas Eve/Birthday Party dinner three hours late because he was out with friends, the same friends that he sees everyday. I only got one gift instead of the customary two and later on he flipped out over my hair, which surprisingly, my family took quite well.
Once more, I was too flighty, doing things without thinking; where the hell did all my hair go and how soon was it coming back? What made me think to blindly cut off my perfectly fine, straight hair when I didn’t know what kind of hair I had going on for real. My newfound nappiness was horrendous, the curl pattern was too tight, Afros on girls are not cute and not even professional. I was crushed, I figured he’d turn up his nose but the tirade was unexpected. I tried not to let his caustic words get to me, I loved my hair, it had more springs, coils and corkscrews than the roller coasters at Cedar Point.  I felt liberated and able to do all the things relaxers kept me from doing. Like exercise…I had gone off the birth control shot and lost 15 of those 35 pounds and that pretty much went unnoticed by him. I stayed until New Year’s and only saw him once. Let him get over the shock of the hair, once it grows out, he’ll be cool, I told myself as I boarded the plane back to DC.

PART FOUR OF THE PROLOGUE WILL BE AVAILABLE NEXT WEEK…CAN’T WAIT? DOWNLOAD IT IN ITS ENTIRETY AT https://www.createspace.com/Preview/1070200

Leave a Reply

